National Congress of American Indians Elects New Executive Committee, Bids Farewell To President Jefferson Keel

Source: National Congress of American Indians
Tulsa, OK – The National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) elected a new Executive Committee today at the 70th Annual Convention & Marketplace. The Executive Committee is charged with advancing the mission of NCAI to protect and advance tribal sovereignty by representing the issues and priorities of tribal nations throughout the country.
President: Brian Cladoosby, Chairman, Swinomish Indian Tribal Community
First Vice President: Michael Finley, Chairman, Colville Tribes
Recording Secretary: Robert Shepard, Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate
Treasurer: Dennis Welsh, Jr., Tribal Council Member, Colorado River Indian Tribes
Regional Vice Presidents: Announced Friday, October 18th
The Executive Committee is elected by NCAI membership: the President, First Vice President, Recording Secretary, and Treasurer are elected by the entire membership; and the twelve Regional Vice Presidents are elected by each respective region. Each of these officers is a member of the NCAI board and serves a two-year term to begin Friday, October 18, 2013.
Two-term President Jefferson Keel will step down Friday, October 18th. President Keel honored NCAI with his leadership, elevated the role of the organization, and served tribal nations well. He remains a valued and respected leader within NCAI and throughout Indian Country.