Reservations targeted in consolidation program

By The Associated Press

These are the American Indian reservations the Department of Interior plans to focus on in the next phase of a $1.9 billion buyback program of fractionated land parcels to turn over to tribal governments. The program is part of a $3.4 billion settlement over mismanaged money held in trust by the U.S. government for individual Indian landowners.

— Assiniboine and Sioux Tribes of the Fort Peck Indian Reservation, Montana.

— Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe of the Cheyenne River Reservation, South Dakota.

— Coeur D’Alene Tribe of the Coeur D’Alene Reservation, Idaho.

— Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Reservation, Montana.

— Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Reservation, Oregon.

— Crow Tribe, Montana.

— Fort Belknap Indian Community of the Fort Belknap Reservation of Montana.

— Gila River Indian Community of the Gila River Indian Reservation, Arizona.

— Lummi Tribe of the Lummi Reservation, Washington.

— Makah Indian Tribe of the Makah Indian Reservation, Washington.

— Navajo Nation, Arizona.

— Northern Cheyenne Tribe of the Northern Cheyenne Indian Reservation, Montana.

— Oglala Sioux Tribe of the Pine Ridge Reservation, South Dakota.

— Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation, Kansas.

— Quapaw Tribe of Indians, Oklahoma.

— Quinault Tribe of the Quinault Reservation, Washington.

— Rosebud Sioux Tribe of the Rosebud Indian Reservation, South Dakota.

— Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate of the Lake Traverse Reservation, North Dakota and South Dakota.

— Squaxin Island Tribe of the Squaxin Island Reservation, Washington.

— Standing Rock Sioux Tribe of North Dakota and South Dakota.

— Swinomish Indians of the Swinomish Reservation, Washington.


Source: U.S. Department of the Interior.